Unit Test

[日本語]

I would like to share my experiences when participating in a unit test project. If you do not know unit testing, please refer to the following site.

Unit Testing

In this project, we mainly conducted unit tests of SQL script.

Specifically, we make test cases according to specifications, prepare test data and make correct answer sheets.

Then start testing according to the test cases. The test results will be passed if the output data and the data created in the correct answer sheets are the same.

If not, check the specification sheet, test case, test data, and correct answer sheet again to make sure that there are no mistakes.

If a bugs occurs on SQL script, we need to report it to the development side. And after bugs have been fixed, we will re-test it again to check operation.

My senior in the field told me that preparation of test cases and preparation of test data are basically done by the same person in charge, but some projects do not.

Also, in unit testing, you have the opportunity to see practical source code of program.

I couldn’t read SQL scripts at first, so I struggled to understand what the script was processing.

However, it was good for me to be involved in this project to be able to read SQL and my knowledge gradually increased.

20180901

One thought on “Unit Test

Leave a comment